We could walk that far…

Well my first flight went quite smoothly, well technically my second I guess if you include the time I went skydiving. Not exactly sure what I was expecting it to be really, just another public transport machine that instead of going on roads or rails just went through the air I guess, though I would say more cramped. The time passed quickly enough thanks to Hamish and Andy’s inflight comedy, along with a handful of other shows and movies, and before I knew it, it was time to land.

 

Coming off the plane you are bombarded with all the great duty free items that just scream temptation in your general direction. After managing to make it through with my wallet intact it was time to find food and a way to the hotel.

 

To achieve this you need to understand one thing, I was travelling with my mate Nathan. This means no easy, slightly more expensive, taxi ride to the hotel. No. Instead we talked each other into diving in head first to the public transport system of Singapore. To its credit the Singapore public transport system has a lot to teach V-line, from light up displays that show you what station is up next and which side the door opens on, to the almost surgically clean stations that enforce no food and drink anywhere on the platforms, strictly. This all being said peak hour is not a great time to try and lug a massive suitcase between trains, and then onto a bus, followed by a marathon walk (because “we could walk that far”, Nathan Shammer, 2014) in sticky 32 degree heat and leaving behind the wonderfully air conditioned world of public transport.

 

The parts of the city that whizzed past the window during all this time was not quite what I expected. I had expected large skyscrapers dominating the skyline and black roads cutting between all the greyness. This in essence was what was there but instead of just having drab black and grey building everywhere with the occasional strange looking building of glass and metal, there was green. The city was alive. Everywhere you looked there were trees and grass, vines carefully placed to climb up buildings as well as pylons that supported the roads and train tracks. They give the city a sense of calmness and reduce the stark sterility that comes to mind when picturing one of the cleanest cities in the world giving the whole place a more inviting feel.

 

The only real downside that I’ve found so far is that on an island that has an equatorial climate keeping it above 30 degrees there are no beaches to swim at. Time to go find a pool.

