Singapore at first sight 20/06

So today is the first day on my trip to Singapore and what a day it’s been. Wake up bright and early to get to the airport and prepare for my journey. At the check in I ask for an upgrade to emergency seating so I have slightly more leg room, but that was to no avail. As my girlfriend and I make our way towards the terminal I pick up a book I’ve had my eye on for a while, Down and out in Paris and London by George Orwell, and with this I am set.

Now all we have left to do wait to board. But there is a delay with the flight which wasn’t announced until just before we are supposed to board. And with this I get a bit annoyed since it meant I could’ve been able to go to Hungry Jacks and ward away the lack lustre food which was surely to come on the plane. Now it’s time to board the flight and sit for 8 hours.

All in all, the flight wasn’t that bad. I met a family from France who moved to Melbourne and are taking a trip back to their homeland. It was nice to speak some French, seeing as it may be the last time I will be able to practise it in the coming weeks. We were met at change airport by my girlfriend’s mother who took us out for a little dinner and here was my first of many delicious encounters with Singaporean dining. We got a little take away and one of the dishes in it was cheesy fries, this little dish had me hooked from the first taste. It was nice to eat the same chips but with a completely new dip that I have never tried before.

I can’t wait to see more of Singapore and what it has to offer, not to mention some completely new and interesting food.

